This article describes the issue of Google contacts being restored as phone contacts, when Google Sync is disabled on the phone.
Google contacts are restored as phone contacts, when Google sync is disabled on the phone.
If Google sync is enabled and has a associated group id, then the contacts will be stored in the Google account. If it is disabled, then it will be stored as phone contacts.
To restore the contacts as Google contacts, perform the following procedure:
- On phone the, go to Settings.
- Look for Data Synchronization or Accounts & Sync.
- Select your Google account.
- Select the Contacts, Calendar, and Gmail check boxes.
- Restore the contacts.